Saturday 11 February 2012


NAGAPATTINAM: The district administration has appointed food safety officers under the Food Safety and Standards Act, 2006, that came into force since August last year. At the State level, food safety and drug administration is being monitored by a food safety commissioner and at the district level by food safety officers.

The Food Safety and Standards Act, 2006 consolidates all existing food laws and repeals eight statutory food-related laws.

With the coming into force of Food Safety and Standards Act, the Prevention of Food Adulteration Act, 1954; The Fruit Products Order, 1955; The Meat Food Products Order, 1973; The Vegetable Oil Products (Control) Order, 1947; The Edible Oils Packaging (Regulation) Order, 1988; The Solvent Extracted Oil, De oiled Meal, and Edible Flour (Control) Order,1967; The Milk and Milk Products Order, 1992; Essential Commodities Act, 1955 relating to food along with the Tamil Nadu Public Health Act, 1939; stands repealed since August 5,2011.

Food producers, distributers, retailers, vendors, road-side hawkers, caterers, marriage caterers, and water suppliers are henceforth not required to have their activities registered with the local bodies or other concerned entities under any of the aforementioned expired laws.
All registrations of such activities shall be defined by the new Food Protection and Standards Act, and aforementioned activities shall be registered and licences renewed solely under the Food Safety and Standards Act.

According to a department release, applications for licenses and registrations may be obtained from the concerned Food Safety Inspectors, on payment of requisite fee.
According to the release, A. Jeganathan, has been designated district food safety inspector, and the following persons designated as food safety officers for various blocks:

A.T.Anbazhagan(94435 26579) for Thirumarugal; K.Kodandabani (99421 84685) for Vedaranyam; S.Peter Pugazhendhi(94437 02460) for Keezhayur; A.Sathish(97861 47236) for Keezhvelur; M.Anthiony Prabhu(95436 97607) for Thalainayar; A.Maharajan(99765 59438)for Nagapattinam; R.Thavapalan( 99426 93266) for Semmanarkoil; P.Srinivasan(94425 75044) for Sirkazhi; C.Senthikumar(94890 07659) for Kollidam; D.Sekar (94439 85754) for Mayiladuthurai block; R.M.Praveen Raghu(94876 41649) for Kuthalam; V.Muthayan(94434 85271) for Mayiladuthurai Municipality; V.Balaguru(94867 19030) for Vedarnayam Municipality.

Any complaints of irregularities in quality of goods shall be brought to the notice of the food safety officers.
The Act consolidates all existing food laws and repeals eight statutory

1 comment:

  1. Nice post, I bookmark your blog because I found very good information on your blog, Thanks for sharing more informatiom